Perched atop the highest point of the Shawangunk Ridge, south of Mohonk and Minnewaska State Park Preserves, lies Sam’s Point Preserve — 5,400 acres sheltering one of the best examples of ridgetop dwarf pine barrens in the world. Home to nearly 40 rare plant and animal species and three rare natural communities, the northern Shawangunks represent one of the highest priorities for conservation in the Northeastern United States.
In 1996, after nearly 25 years of negotiations, the Open Space Institute secured protection of the Sam's Point area with the assistance of a large number of partners, including the Lila Acheson and Dewitt Wallace Fund for the Hudson Highlands and The Nature Conservancy. Today, the preserve is owned by the Open Space Instititute and managed by the Conservancy's Eastern New York Chapter. You can also play a role in the Conservancy’s long-term success in this region when you make a safe and secure online gift to support our work.
The Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania houses one of the most significant collections of historic railroad artifacts in the world. Devoted to preserving and interpreting the broad impact of railroad development on society, the Museum:
Displays over 100 locomotives and cars from the mid-19th and 20th centuries, including the priceless Pennsylvania Railroad Historical Collection.
The City of Kingston is nestled in the heart of Ulster County, New York. It is 91 miles north of New York City and 59 miles south of Albany. Kingston was New York's first capital in 1777, and was burned by the British on October 16, 1777, after the Battles of Saratoga. In the 19th century, the city became an important transport hub after the discovery of natural cement in the region, and had both railroad and canal connections. Passenger rail service has since ceased, and many of the older buildings are part of three historic districts, such as the Uptown Stockade District, the Midtown Neighborhood Broadway Corridor, and the Downtown Rondout-West Strand Historic District.
Maryknoll Mission Center and Seminary Building
The History of Maryknoll's Mission Center and Seminary Building The first home for the Maryknoll Fathers and Brothers was established during 1912 in an old house located in Hawthorne, New York, about 15 miles north of Manhattan in the then semi-rural area of Westchester County. A class of six men had been accepted to enter the new seminary during September 1912, but even before they arrived the house was deemed too small to accommodate them.
The first stone in the concrete footing was laid a few weeks after the June 29, 1920 groundbreaking. All the stones, including boulders retrieved during excavation, came from the property and were laid by local Italian stone masons. These stones were said to "symbolize ruggedness, strength and durability – qualities which must mark the right kind of missioner."
Not until February 16, 1953 did general contractors begin construction of the chapel. Finally, on May 8, 1956, Our Lady Queen of Apostles Chapel was blessed by New York's Francis Cardinal Spellman. In the crypt below the chapel were placed the tombs of Maryknoll's mission visionaries -- Father James A. Walsh and Father Thomas F. Price.
Wave Hill is a 28-acre public garden and cultural center in the Bronx overlooking the Hudson River and Palisades. Its mission is to celebrate the artistry and legacy of its gardens and landscapes, to preserve its magnificent views, and to explore human connections to the natural world through programs in horticulture, education and the arts.
West 249th Street and Independence Avenue (main entrance)
Bronx, NY 10471-2899
Press: Martha Gellens, 718.549.3200 x232 or firstname.lastname@example.org